What is The "Lost & Found" Folder Created by Riva?

  • Updated

In Riva Cloud and Riva On-Premise, "Lost & Found" folders are generated during a first-time sync if there is a specific issue with category names or labels. Specifically, if the category name or label that the current sync policy is configured to use has already been assigned to items in the user's mailbox, the items are moved to "Lost & Found" folders.

  • In Riva Cloud environments, this occurs if the CRM or email connection is removed and a new sync policy is created.
  • In Riva On-Premise environments, this normally happens when
    • a user is removed from one sync policy and is added to a new sync policy, or
    • a re-initialization full sync (delete, re-sync, and re-poll) is performed. 

A first-time sync for any user checks the user mailbox for items that are assigned the same category or label that is configured in the sync policy. If such categorized or labeled items are found, it is assumed that Riva or some other sync process has synced those mailbox items with corresponding items in the CRM; to prevent creating duplicates in the CRM, those items are moved to "Lost & Found" folders in the mailbox and appropriate action is taken.

  • Contacts and leads are moved to a "Lost & Found" contacts folder, and a fresh copy of every CRM contact and lead to be synced is created in the designated CRM sync contact folder in the mailbox.
  • Calendar items are moved to a "Lost & Found" child calendar, and a fresh copy of every CRM calendar item to be synced is synced to the user's primary mailbox calendar.
  • Task items are moved to a "Lost & Found" task list, and a fresh copy of every CRM task item to be synced from the CRM task list is synced to the user's primary task list in the mailbox.
  • Email that resides in Riva drop folders (for example, "<Category or Label Name>- Create New Email") is moved to a "Lost & Found" folder.

To clean up the Lost & Found folders in your email client:

  1. Compare the contents of the "Lost & Found" contact folder with the contents of your mailbox address book. As appropriate, either delete contacts from the "Lost & Found" folder or, if you want to keep them and sync them to the CRM, move them to the address book contact list, and they will be synced during the next sync cycle (if bidirectional syncing is selected for the contact sync).

  2. Compare the contents of the "Lost & Found" task list with the contents of your mailbox task list. As appropriate, either delete tasks from the "Lost & Found" folder or, if you want to keep them and sync them to the CRM, move them to the mailbox task list, and they will be synced during the next sync cycle (if bidirectional syncing is selected for the tasks sync).

  3. Move the email in the "Lost & Found" folders to the applicable mailbox drop folder for Riva to sync those messages to the CRM. After the email has been synced, delete the empty "Lost & Found" folders.

  4. Deal with the calendar items in "Lost & Found" folders on a case-by-case basis. The suggested best practices include:

    • If the calendar item is a normal appointment (not a meeting), use the newly synced calendar item in the primary mailbox calendar and delete the older item from "Lost & Found".
    • If the calendar item is a meeting that was created in the CRM, use the newly synced calendar item in the primary mailbox calendar and delete the older item from "Lost & Found".
    • If the calendar item is a meeting that originated in the email system, do the following:
      1. In the "Lost & Found" child calendar, remove the Riva-generated category or label name and add a new "Riva Original" category or label with a different colour.
      2. Move the original meeting to your primary calendar.
        After Riva syncs the meeting to the CRM, there will be duplicate copies of the meeting in both the email client and the CRM.
      3. In the email client, in the primary calendar in the mailbox, locate both calendar items, and REMOVE the calendar item that DOES NOT have the "Lost & Found" category or label.
        Riva syncs a deletion of the newer calendar item to the CRM, which leaves the original email system meeting and the linked CRM calendar item.
    • If the calendar item is a recurring appointment or meeting that was originated in the email system, do the following:
      1. In the "Lost & Found" child calendar, edit the entire series: remove the Riva-generated category or label from the calendar item, and add a new "Riva Original" category or label with a different colour.
      2. Move the original series back to the user's primary calendar.
        After Riva syncs the recurring series to the CRM, there will be duplicate copies of each appointment or meeting in both the email client and the CRM.
      3. In the email client, in the primary calendar, locate both recurring series, and REMOVE the recurring series that DOES NOT have the "Lost & Found" category or label.
        Riva syncs a deletion of the newer recurring series to the CRM, which leaves the original email system recurring series and the linked CRM calendar items.

Was this article helpful?

/

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.