Deleting Contacts: Default Behaviour For Exchange to CRM Synchronization

  • Updated

Default Synchronization Behaviour

When CRM contacts are deleted from Outlook (or any Exchange client), the default behaviour for Riva is:

  • Deleting the contact from Exchange does not delete the contact from the CRM, because the CRM is the master.
    • The contact is deleted only from the user's Outlook (Exchange) contact list; and
    • If the contact is updated in the CRM in the future, Riva will resync the contact back to Exchange. The contact re-appears in the user's Outlook (Exchange) contact list.

Synchronize Contact Deletions from Exchange

To modify the default contact deletion behaviour:

  1. In the Riva Manager application, on the menu bar, select Policies.

  2. In the right pane, double-click the desired sync policy to edit it.

  3. In the Edit CRM Synchronization Policy window that appears, select the Advanced Options tab.

  4. On the Advanced Options page, in the Contact Deletion Options section, select Synchronize contact deletions from Exchange to CRM.

    contact-delete-options(1).png

    The Riva sync deletes the contact from the CRM. Then, on the next full sync, it removes that Riva-synced contact from the Exchange address book of all target users.

Applies to

Was this article helpful?

/

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.